Just a dollop

Yikes, it’s been awhile hasn’t it? Life sure gets in the way of blogging, sometimes.

I think the biggest struggle for me with blogging isn’t that I don’t enjoy it our I don’t have time- you can always make time for things you enjoy. But the problem is that my job involves sitting in front of the computer for 8+ hours a day. And three hours in the car. All I do is sit! So it’s hard when I’m home to plop myself in front of the computer again. That’s not a healthy lifestyle.

And on that note, with the few hours I have to myself after work, I often found myself faced with the desire to do three things, but only enough time to do two:

1) work out

2) cook a healthy meal

3) blog

A healthy living blog should not prevent you from having time to do 1) or 2). So if the decision comes to that, I should always sacrifice blogging, because skipping a run to write a post for a healthy living blog is just silly.

Now that’s out of the way, I’m going to write a short ode to one of my favorite products of all time: cottage cheese.

I sort of understand why cottage cheese can get a bad rap. As shocking as this may be, I used to be quite a picky eater back in the day, all through high school. Then over a period of about two years, my tastebuds matured and I learned to like almost any food. But certain foods (especially ones with weird texture) took some getting used to. I continued to dislike cottage cheese for a long time.

Then, when I went through my extreme dieting phase, I would pretty much eat anything filling and low-calorie, regardless of taste. When I think about the meals I used to eat it makes me cringe- plain boca burgers on 35-calorie bread with mustard for dinner?? Gag me.

But many of the foods I then “forced” myself to eat, I now really like- i.e. most vegetables, and cottage cheese!

This stuff is the gift that keeps on giving. I first started using it to make protein pancakes. Then I realized mixed with pumpkin and a little cinnamon and sugar, I could have a healthy sweet-tooth pumpkin pie-fix each night.

Then, when I was eating eggs for dinner three nights a week Ireland, I somehow thought to put a dollop of cottage cheese into my scrambled eggs. Best. Decision. Ever.

Please, please do this. Just a spoonful and your eggs will be super creamy and delicious. It’s the only way I can eat non-farm eggs… cottage cheese makes even lame grocery store eggs palatable.

Then this weekend, I tried some in my oatmeal. I had tried this before and was underwhelmed with the result- I expect the same creamy transformation as with eggs, but the lumps didn’t really mix in. But then, when I made them on the stove top (a la KERF method), and added the cottage cheese while they were still cooking, BAM! Huge, delicious difference. Pumpkin oat success!

I know it’s been blogged to death, but best bowl of oatmeal you will ever eat:

1/2 c rolled oats

1 c almond milk

1/2 banana

~1/4 c pumpkin

~1/4 c cottage cheese

cinnamon

pumpkin pie spice

 

Then today, just when I thought I had exhausted all non-traditional uses of cottage cheese, I added some to the standard chocolate protein powder-banana-spinach-almond milk smoothie I’ve made approx. 1000x. I thought hey, if a dollop of this stuff is good in eggs, pancakes, oatmeal, and pretty much everything else on the planet, maybe it will take this smoothie to the next level, and it did.

If I could find a boyfriend that made me as happy as cottage cheese does, I’d be a very lucky girl.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just a dollop

  1. kath says:

    I would hardly say blogged to death 🙂 YUM!

Leave a Reply

