An international smorgasbord

Tonight, I got to eat an international feast. And I didn’t have to cook it. And it was 100% authentic. And free!

How, you ask? Oh, just Mom’s Indian/Chinese/Middle Eastern coworkers. They had a potluck at her office and she grabbed all the leftover, I think with me in mind πŸ™‚ Take a look:

We have chickpeas sauteed in some kind of yummy Indian sauce, basamati rice with all sorts of goodness in it (cashews, raisens, onions, carrots?), chinese noodles & vegetables, and homemade naan. NOM.

So, since I didn’t have to cook, I finally decided to make my coconut butter all melty, for easier drizzling purposes in the morning. I followed Kath’s advice: put jar in boiling water, stir, repeat.

Worked perfectly except the label boiled right off! Obviously I couldn’t just stare at melting coconut butter for any period of time without enjoying it for dessert. So I drizzled it on graham crackers.They’re the perfect base for all of my favorite things: peanut butter.. nutella… peanut butter and nutella…

Please forgive the big bird plate. My parents are a little nostalgic for the times when their three daughters were still babies. Maybe they’ll finally get rid of it when I move out (soon! ::fingers crossed::) and she’s an empty nester. Not likely.

30 Rock is so good right now- almost enough to convert me to a TV watcher. Tina Fey, UVA alum!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to An international smorgasbord

  1. kath says:

    Just warm water will do!! No need to actually boil!

  2. It was great to meet you last night lady! Hopefully we’ll run across one another again soon. If you’re ever coming to Richmond – let me know!!

    I melt my coconut oil/coconut butter by sitting the jar on top of the stove when the oven is on. Works like a charm – so long as you are baking something at the same time. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

