The party never ends, but sometimes it pauses

The week after birthdays is usually a much-needed return to normalcy when it comes to food. I enjoyed every minute (and bite) of my birthday weekend, but with extra sodium, alcohol, and fried food, you couldn’t have paid me to try on my jeans on Sunday.

On the bright side, after all that indulgence, lots of greens and fruits and lighter fare taste all that much better now!

Also, since I worked from home today, I got to do a workout I haven’t been able to get to in a long time: indoor cycling! Man, what is it about cycling classes? You can be in great shape in every aspect of fitness, but after a month without a class it still kicks my butt every time.

AND I got this baby in the mail today!

This was one of my birthday presents to myself. Normally I just can’t bring myself to spend $15 for a jar of nut butter, but I’ve been pining over this for so long, and finally I gave in thanks to a sweet September discount in Kath’s Open Sky store. Thanks, Kath!

I tried a spoonful and it is as divine as she and Emily claim. I’m going to use it with breakfast tomorrow but I can’t decide with what! It had to be quick and something I can eat on the go, so I’m thinking drizzled over toast with banana slices will be my best bet.

Today was rainy and cozy, partially driven by the fact that I got to work from home Starbucks and curled up in my sweats with a cup of coffee all day. ❤ telecommuting.

And without my normal 1.5 hour commute home, I had time to cook a real dinner! Given the weather, chili seemed appropriate. After consulting a few recipes, and hoping they’d taste as good vegetarian, I just went with the spices and veggies we had around and came up with this:

Vegetarian White Bean Chili

White Bean Chili

1 can cannellini beans, rinsed

2 cups low-sodium vegetable broth

1/2 red bell pepper, chopped

1 seeded jalapeno pepper, finely minced (optional)

2 cloves garlic, minced

1/2 tsp oregano

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp chili powder

1/2 cup diced onion

1/2 tsp salt (or to taste)

No special directions- just sautee your peppers, onions and garlic about five minutes or until soft, add your spices, then the beans and broth. I brought it to a simmer, then mashed up the beans and reduced the heat to medium. Easy peasy.

But these babies are my secret ingredient.

I don’t really know what they are; some kind of dried chili I think? I don’t know, I spotted them at the Charlottesville Farmer’s Market last spring and immediately saw their potential to spice up any Mexican recipe. I was right- a few of these ground up into any chili, taco mix, burrito, whatever, and my Mexican-in-another-life taste buds are happy.

Wish I knew what they were called, or else I’m in real trouble when I run out…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The party never ends, but sometimes it pauses

  1. kath says:

    Drizzled on toast would be juuuuust dandy 🙂

  2. sclark32 says:

    ah! Nothing better than chili on a cold day!

Leave a Reply

