Egg Connoisseur

The spring of my 3rd year of college, I studied abroad in Ireland. Dublin, more specifically, though I travelled all over the country.

Long story short, (and there will be many long stories about my semester abroad in future posts), between the euro-dollar exchange rate, and my desire to travel anywhere and everywhere in Europe that semester, I was broke. My food budget was extremely minimal, and I simply couldn’t afford the amount or type of groceries I bought in the states. So long, 100 calorie packs. Adios, frozen dinners. Avocados, see you in the states.

Ironically, for the most part, this budget made me a much healthier eater. I couldn’t afford any of the “convenience food” I had in the states. But even more so, eating in Ireland, and living abroad in general, clued me into something: simple food tasted better in Europe.

But again, that is another post for another day.

I first noticed this phenomenon with eggs. I had never been a huge egg eater in the states except on occassional weekend mornings, but eggs were the ultimate Irish budget food, so I tried them out for dinner.

Oh. my. word. They were so good. I ate eggs every which way, probably 2-3 times a week for an entire semester and was perfectly content.

So imagine my surprise when, about a month after I returned to the states, I craved an Ireland-style egg dinner. For some strange reason, these scrambled eggs left me unsatisfied. I thought maybe I had just overdosed on eggs while abroad. I didn’t try it again for months.

Then, back at UVA, I solved the mystery. A friend of mine, a Charlottesville native, had a farm house out in the mountains that we visited one weekend. Before we left he gave all of us a dozen eggs from the family’s chicken coup. I made some for dinner that night and realized THESE were the eggs I had been missing! Farm fresh eggs obviously taste better than the ones from the grocery store, but in Ireland, ALL of the eggs are farm fresh. I was so spoiled.

I should have realized this when I saw that eggs in Europe don’t require refridgeration. I only just found out that when eggs travel less than a certain distance from their farm, they don’t need it. Freshness = taste, duh!

So now, some people call me an egg snob. I prefer “connoisseur.” I pretty much only eat eggs that I buy from a farmer’s market, otherwise they’re just not worth it to me. This is why it’s so upsetting when I can’t get to a market for a few weeks in a row, because if I run out of eggs, I can’t just run to the store to get them!

Thankfully, that wasn’t the situation this morning. I prepared some delicious farm eggs in one of my favorite styles: poached!

Now, I’ve never understood the need for an egg poacher, unless you’re cooking a lot of eggs at once. I am not the best at handling eggs (every omelette I attempt turns into a scramlette) but this fool proof method works every time.

Steps to perfect poached eggs:

1) Boil about 5-6 inches of water, enough to cover your egg.

2) Crack 1 egg into a bowl

3) when your water is boiling, pour in about a teaspoon of vinegar- this makes the egg cook together

4) Set your timer for 2-3 minutes; 2 if you like a runny yolk, 3 if you want it firmer

5) While the egg cooks, toast a piece of bread

6) When your timer goes off, remove the pot from the burner and drain into a colander or remove with a slotted sppon.

Now, today I had a slight hiccup during step six. Look at this beautiful runny yolk, just running down my kitchen sink 😦

But, I am repeatedly convinced that everything happens for a reason, because when I dried my tears and cracked another egg, look what happened: DOUBLE YOLKS!!

It’s going to be a good day.

After I repeated the above steps with the superior egg, I completed the steps: place the poached egg on a piece of toast (some people butter it, I don’t think it matters, to each his own), top with black pepper, and if you’re like me and you have a problem with hot sauce addiction, top with tabasco.

Too runny? Not for me!

You know, all this egg talk has inspired me to do something I always say I’m going to do, and never actually do. Since I have no time to sit down for breakfast during the week and am confined to smoothies or pb&j on toast that I can eat on the way to work, the only way I could eat eggs for breakfast Monday-Friday is to hardboil them ahead of time and take them on the go. I’m going to do that now.

Wowie. I think this means I’m an adult now. What’s next- chopping veggies for the week to save time on dinner? Planning my weeknight menus ahead of time ? Going to the grocery store with a list instead of meandering around Whole Foods for an hour?!

Yikes, I’m growing up.

… But not quite. I did spend all day yesterday at a wine festival with unlimited tastings, and instead of snapping pics of what I actually ate, just marveled at the 18 inch corn dogs and frisbee sized funnel cakes for sale.

Thankfully, some things will never change.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

