The last supper

Getting nervous!

Luckily the post work bike ride was exactly what I needed to calm down, get outdoors, and just MOVE a little bit- no running while sitting at a desk all day makes me feel like such a blob. I didn’t want to tax my muscles this week, but I still wanted to use them 🙂

So me and my old buddy Curt hit the W&OD trail for a quick 8ish miles.

Sadly still no bike of my own (I’m working on it…) but luckily I have wonderful neighbors.

Curt is also one of my first friends to know about the blog- hope he’s not judging me too hard, he does think I’m a bit of a nut though 🙂

When we got home I cooked a solo dinner for myself. I don’t think carbo-loading is really necessary before a half-marathon, so I just planned a normal dinner. I was going to make salmon burgers, but when I saw the produce options in the fridge, black bean burgers made much more sense:

I’ve tried many a black bean burger recipe in my time, but really, I’ve learned there’s not much method to the madness. You need to know the basic process, but you can alter the spices and sauces however you want to suit your taste. But here’s my technique:

Black bean burgers (2):

1/2 can black beans

1/4 cup chopped red bell pepper

1/4 cup chopped red onion

2 tbsp bread crumbs or panko

2 tbsp chopped chili pepper

2 tbsp fresh lime juice

To taste:

Red pepper flakes

Salt

Pepper

Garlic powder

Hot sauce

Cumin

…. etc.

First, start with a can of beans and drain out all that unnecessary sodium- see the ugly yellow colander in the background?

Next, chop your onions, bell pepper, and chili and add those. Squeeze in some fresh lime juice.

Mash everything up with a potato masher. Looks super ugly, doesn’t it? Yours should too.

Next, form two patties and grill on a Pam-ed or olive oil-ed skillet. While I normally vouch for outdoor grilling as the superior method to cook anything, bean burgers are notoriously delicate and is there anything sadder than having your dinner fall through the grill grates? For these,  stick to the skillet, my friends.

For the finish touches, I toasted an Arnold’s Sandwich Thin and threw on some sliced avocado. Then, at the last minute I remembered I had this stuff left over from my venture into Peach Paradise aka the Eastern Shore of Maryland!

So. good. I must find a version of this that I can buy year round. Preferably sold somewhere slightly more convenient than an Eastern Shore farm stand.

With some of last night’s butternut squash-

As much as I would like to write all about my plans/strategy/excitement/anxiety about tomorrow, I think it would be better for me to just relax, unwind, and fully update you all tomorrow. See you (well) after the finish line!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The last supper

  1. Good luck, I’m about to do my first half marathon in a week and I’m getting pretty nervous too. Nice recipe by the way, looks good 🙂

Leave a Reply

