the second commandment of half-marathon training is..

2) Thou shalt taper.

And do lots of yoga in the process 🙂

As hard as it is for me to take multiple days off from running, I know it’s necessary before the race.  After rest days my legs always feel amazingly energized, and that’s the feeling I need to have on Saturday.

More on the yoga-tapering strategy later, but for tonight, another quickie dinner post: breakfast for dinner! Protein pancakes are one of my personal faves any time of day- they’re quick, filling, healthy, and fun! PAncakes always bring back good childhood memories of making mickey mouse cakes with my Pops, or good college memories of  ordering pancakes during brunch while nursing a wicked hangover and cursing my lack of self control the night before. Moving on.

Regular IHOP-style pancakes are great, but they’re pretty much empty carbs and sugar, so if I want healthy pancakes (and, of course, sometimes I don’t- in which case Bisquik works quite well), you gotta add some protein! There are recipes for theseguys all over the internet, but I’ve experimented with a bunch and here’s what I like best:

Potein Pancakes

1/2 cup egg whites

1/2 cup oats

1/2 cup low-fat cottage cheese

Pinch of salt

Pinch of cinnamon

1 tsp. sugar or slenda

1/2 cup frozen, warmed berries with their juices as a topping OR sugar free syrup OR a dollop of low fat whipped cream 🙂

Directions
1. Blend first four ingredients until smooth (I use the magic bullet)
2. Pour about 1/4 cup batter for each pancake onto heated griddle
3. When pancakes bubble in the middle, flip and cook the other side
4. Top with frozen fruit, warmed and sliced and poured over the top with their juices.

You can get creative with the toppings. Light whipped cream is one of my all-time favorite food products, so often I jst whip out a can of that instead of syrup or fruit. Greek yogurt mixed with a little honey and smeared over top also does the trick. Here’s what the finished product looks like:

Please, go make these if you haven’t tried them before. I won’t say you’ll never miss IHOP (sometimes you just need the real thing), but I eat these pretty regularly and guilt-free pancakes are a handy weeknight meal.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

