some simple math

3 hours of commuting + 9 hours of work + 12 miles of running = one very long day.

Days like these, when you see the sun rise AND set without from behind your steering wheel, simply don’t allow much time for elaborate recipes. And by elaborate I mean anything that requires more than ten minutes from the time I walk in the door until the time I shove food down my throat.

Many people use these days as an excuse to eat fast food, but I’ve really never understood that. Sure, I love to spend time preparing a wholesome meal as much as the next foodie, but a healthy lifestyle doesn’t require that sort of time committment every single night. So, this is when you throw together your quick and easy go-to dinners. Most nights in college I never had time to cook anything fancy during the week, but instead of wasting my money and expanding my waisteline with takeout, I developed a coterie of simple meals. And now, my loyal readers, I share them with you- as I eat them, that is.

Tonight, with my tummy rumbling on my way home, eggs sounded perfect. Maybe because I just bought beautiful farm eggs frome the country store on the way to Cville. Then again, I’m usually in the mood for eggs.

Easy trick to make simple scrambled eggs even more delicious: stir in some cottage cheese halfway through cooking. Now, before you freak out, I know that many people can’t stand cottage cheese. I used to be one of them. I know, it’s a texture thing, I know. But if you use it as part of a recipe, you get the creaminess (taste) and the protein/calcium (nutrition) without gagging from the lumpiness.

So, tonight I scrambled up an extra large egg, stirred in about 1/4 cup cottage cheese, threw it on an Arnold’s sandwich thin, spread a laughing cow cheese on one half, and put some smoked salmon on the other. Presto, dinner. I also microwaved some spinach with water and drained it for a steamed veggie side dish.

Cheaper, healthier, and more delicious than takeout.

That’s a wrap on today, whew.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

