“Mark Twain once said you can’t go home again…”

Aloha! So part of my adjustment to post-college life and living at home (for now) means searching out my new “spots”: yoga studio, running paths, cafes, etc. All the places you frequent regularly.

This might seem odd because I haven’t moved to a new place. But I’m four years older and a whole lot different than I was last time I lived at home for more than a month, and my interests have changed. I’ve been getting really frustrated that I couldn’t seem to find any of my “spots” here in the suburbs, but then I realized not many suburban areas have as much going on as Cville. Around here, you often have to travel a bit to find the good stuff. But, ya gotta do what ya gotta do.

So, the day started off with a green smoothie. I usually use protein powder in my smoothies but this time I tried a http://www.katheats.com style recipe that included cottage cheese and oatmeal. SO GOOD! Here are the ingredients (plus strawberries that already went in the magic bullet)…

And breakfast, pre-yoga.

As you can see, currently reading Life of Pi- so good, highly recommend it! I’m also currently “auditioning” yoga studios in NOVA.  Forgive me for stating the obvious, but yoga is EXPENSIVE! Now that I can no longer get student discounts, I don’t know how I’m going to afford to practice at a real studio. My yoga obsession may leave me broke, but at least I’ll feel very mellow about it. Luckily the stidio I went to had an intro week deal for unlimited classes for $10, so I will be thoroughly stretched out after this week. The class was awesome and so necessary- I woke up stiff as a board from Friday’s 11 mile training run.

After yoga I tried out another NOVA farmer’s market. I haven’t found any that compare to Cville’s yet, but Leesburg’s came close. SUCCESS!

Yes, those are YELLOW donut peaches. And those teeny grapes are so sweet, biting into them tastes like drinking Welch’s grape juice.

The rest of the afternoon made me appreciate my proximity to DC. I went to a BBQ at a friend’s new house on Logan Circle, and I realized I don’t give DC enough credit. I walked around the surrounding neighborhoods for awhile and they really have a ton of character. I stopped and grabbed a Crystal Lite slurpee at a 7-11 (yes I am 11 years old at heart, they’re a summertime staple for me), checked out the local Whole Foods, and popped into a cool salad place called Sweet Green for a snack, which ended up being a small container of “sesame kale.” Yes I walked around DC with kale in one hand and a slurpee in the other. Totally normal.

Dinner was an uneventful (but delicious) serving of lentil loaf leftovers.

Sigh. Today was soul-cleansing.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

